Rwanda Sitting Volleyball teams off to Netherlands for World Championship



#SittingVolleyball teams off to Netherlands for World Championship

The national sitting volleyball teams, men and women departed for the Netherlands on Wednesday for 2018 World Sitting Volleyball Championships. / Sam Ngendahimana

The national sitting volleyball teams, men and women, departed for The Netherlands last night, at 1:00am aboard Kenya Airways, ahead of the 2018 World Sitting Volleyball Championships.

The world’s biggest sitting volleyball competition is due July 15-22.

In the women’s category, debutants Rwanda have been pooled in Group A alongside Croatia, Canada and hosts Netherlands while the men’s team also making their first World Championships finals since 2010, are also in Group A with Netherlands, the United States and China.

In the category, Rwanda will face the hosts in the tournament’s opening match on July 15, then face the United States the following day before playing China in the last group game on July 17.

In the women’s fray, Rwanda will play their historic first World Championships match against Canada on July 15, take on the Netherlands on July 16 before winding up their group campaign against Croatia the next day.

Venlo and Eindhoven will play hosts of the men’s preliminary round matches before the semifinals and finals take place in The Hague on July 21 and 22.

Meanwhile, Arnhem hosts the women’s preliminary round matches before heading to Rotterdam for the quarterfinals, semifinals and finals from July 19 to 21.

Rwanda and Egypt are the two countries representing Africa at the week-long championship.

Final squads

Dominique Bizimana, Theogene Hakizimana, Jean Baptiste Gahamanyi, Fulgence Hagenimana, Jean Baptiste Murema , Jean Claude Ndahiro, Jean Baptiste Ndayisaba, Jean Semana, Vincent Tuyisenge Callixte Twagirayezu, Emile Vuningabo and Innocent Niyitegeka.

Claudine Bazubagira, Yvonne Imanishimwe, Carine Kwizera, Liliane Mukobwankawe, Claudine Murebwayire, Alice Musabyemariya, Zaninka Nikuze, Sandrine Nyirambarushimana, Solange Nyiraneza, Agnes Nyirambarushimana, Providence Nyirantungane, Clementine Umutoni.