Netherlands 2018: Groups drawn for Worlds



Netherlands 2018: Groups drawn for Worlds

Bosnia & Herzegovina and China look to defend men’s and women’s titles

a group of male sitting volleyballers celebrate on the court
Bosnia and Herzegovina are looking to defend their world title at Netherlands 2018 © • Getty Images
Listen to this page using ReadSpeaker

Defending men’s champions Bosnia & Herzegovina will be joined by Rio 2016 bronze medallists Egypt in a tough-looking Pool D as the groups for the 2018 Sitting Volleyball World Championships were drawn. In the women’s competition, reigning world champions China will face Slovenia, Iran and Italy in Pool C.

Men’s competition

Egypt, Iraq and Poland will contest Pool D alongside Bosnia & Herzegovina.

Pool B will see Rio 2016 gold medallists and six-time world champions Iran taking on European champions Russia*, Tokyo 2020 hosts Japan and world No.6 Germany.

World No.2 and 2014 World Championships runners-up Brazil share Pool C with Asian champions Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Croatia.

Hosts Netherlands were drawn in Pool A together with USA, China and Rwanda.

Women’s competition

China will start their quest for their third successive title when they face Italy in their opening game.

Paralympic champions USA will be joined by Japan, European champions Russia and Hungary in Pool B.

African champions Rwanda, Canada and Croatia will face hosts Netherlands in Pool A.

Rio 2016 bronze medallists and Americas champions Brazil were drawn in Pool D together with Finland, world No.4 Ukraine and Egypt.

The 2018 Sitting Volleyball World Championships will take place in the Netherlands, between 15 and 22 July. More information is available on the event’s webpage.

*Editor’s note: The International Paralympic Committee suspended the Russian Paralympic Committee on 7 August 2016 for its inability to fulfil its IPC membership responsibilities and obligations, in particular its obligation to comply with the IPC Anti-Doping Code and the World Anti-Doping Code (to which it is also a signatory). As a result of the suspension, Russian athletes cannot enter IPC sanctioned events or competitions, including the Paralympic Games.

For further information please click here.